Juror Bios



Graham Harman

Graham Harman is a distinguished Professor of philosophy at the American University in Cairo. His work on the metaphysics of objects led to the development of object-oriented ontology, and he is a central figure in the speculative realism trend in contemporary philosophy. He is the 2009 winner of the AUC Excellence in Research and Creative Endeavors Award, and a frequent international lecturer. In 2013, he was ranked as one of the most influential figures in the international art world by Art Review magazine. Harman is the author of eleven books, most recently Weird Realism: Lovecraft and Philosophy (2012) and Bells and Whistles: More Speculative Realism (2013). He is the editor of the Speculative Realism book series at Edinburgh University Press, and (with Bruno Latour) co-editor of the New Metaphysics book series at Open Humanities Press. 


Ian Bogost

Ian Bogost is an author and an award-winning game designer. He is the Ivan Allen College Distinguished Chair in Media Studies and Professor of Interactive Computing at the Georgia Institute of Technology, where he also holds an appointment in the Scheller College of Business. Bogost is a Founding Partner at Persuasive Games LLC, an independent game studio, and a Contributing Editor at The Atlantic, where he writes regularly about technology and popular culture.


Leslie van Duzer


Leslie Van Duzer is Director of the School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture at the University of Brisitish Columbia and has taught in a dozen schools of architecture across Europe, Canada, and the United States. She has published five books, including two award-winning monographs: Villa Müller: A Work of Adolf Loos and Mies van der Rohe: The Krefeld Villas, and the first book in a new series on endangered modern houses, House Shumiatcher. She is currently working on several book projects: The Art of Deception, Philanthropy and City Buidling, The Village Model, and Taxi.


Levi Bryant

Levi Bryant is a Professor of Philosophy at Collin College in Dallas-Fort Worth. He is a member of the object-oriented philosophy movement and coined the term object-oriented ontology in 2009. His own version of object-oriented thought, called “Onticology,” disprivileges human experience from a central position in metaphysical inquiry, while holding that objects are always split between two domains, virtuality and actuality.  Bryant has written extensively about post-structural and cultural theory, including the work of Deleuze, LacanRancière, and Žižek. His blog, Larval Subjects, has generated over two million hits since its inception in 2006.


Winka Dubbeldam

Winka Dubbeldam serves as Chair and Professor of Graduate Architecture at PennDesign, where she previously oversaw the Post-Professional degree program. She has also taught at Columbia University, Harvard University, and other institutions. She is founder and principal of the New York firm Archi-tectonics, whose work ranges from residential to commercial, real to virtual, and is realized in urban designs, architecture, and installation. Recent projects include the Greenwich Building and V33 building, both in NYC, the Ports1961 flagship retail stores in Paris, London, and Shanghai, the American Loft Building in Philadelphia, and a pro-bono design for an orphanage and school she is creating in Liberia. Winka also runs a design-research team to re-invigorate Downtown Bogota, and recently won the Yulin Design Competition in China.


Jorge Otero-Pailos

Jorge Otero-Pailos works at the intersection of art, architecture, and preservation. He has exhibited internationally. In 2009 he was listed as one of ten young Spanish artists to watch in Architectural Digest magazine and was featured on the BBC’s documentary Ugly Beauty alongside Damien Hirst, Anish Kapoor, and Carl Andre. He has received awards from major organizations including the Kress Foundation, the Graham Foundation for Advanced Studies in the Fine Arts, the James Marston Fitch Charitable Foundation, and the Canadian Centre for Architecture. In 2012 he received the UNESCO Eminent Professional Award. Otero-Pailos studied at Cornell University and holds a PhD from MIT. He is Associate Professor at Columbia University’s Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation and is founder and editor of the journal Future Anterior. He received awards from the Graham Foundation for, Architecture’s Historical Turn, and Historic Preservation Theory: A Critical Anthology in 2009 and 2014, respectively.


Albena Yaneva


Albena Yaneva is an anthropologist of architecture. Her work spans architectural theory, science and technology, cognitive anthropology, and political philosophy. She is the author of the forthcoming Politics of Urban Design, and of Mapping Controversies in Architecture (2012), The Making of a Building (2009), and Made by the OMA: An Ethnography of Design (2009), as well as dozens of articles. Yaneva was awarded the 2010 RIBA President's Award for Outstanding University-located Research for her innovative use of ethnography in architectural discourse. She has contributed to several gallery and museum projects and has received grants from the Graham Foundation for Advanced Studies in the Fine Arts, the British Academy, and the EU. She has presented more than fifty international lectures, is a member of the Peer Review College of the Arts and Humanities Research Council and the Economy and Society Research Council, and is a reviewer for the National Science Foundation. 


Michael Benedikt

Michael Benedikt holds the Hal Box Chair in Urbanism and is Director of the Center for American Architecture and Design at The University of Texas at Austin, where he teaches design studio and theory. He holds degrees from The University of the Witwatersrand and Yale University. His books include For an Architecture of Reality (1987), Deconstructing the Kimbell (1991), Cyberspace: First Steps (1991), Value and Value 2 (1997, 1998), and God Is The Good We Do (2007), and he has published numerous articles and book chapters. He is Editor of CENTER: Architecture and Design in America. He has been visiting professor at Harvard University, Scholar in Residence at the Rockefeller Foundation, Fellow at the University of Michigan, and J. L. Constant Professor at the University of Kansas. He received the 2003 School of Architecture Teacher of the Year Award, and was named a 2004 Distinguished Professor by the ACSA.


Kory Bieg


Kory Bieg, AIA, is Assistant Professor at the School of Architecture at The University of Texas at Austin. He previously taught at California College of the Arts and the University of California, Berkeley. Bieg received his MArch from Columbia University and his BArch from Washington University in Saint Louis. He is a registered architect in California, Texas, and Colorado. He is founding principal of OTA+, an architecture, design, and research office based in Austin, Texas specializing in the application of advanced digital technologies. Bieg is an Associate Director of TEX-FAB and was 2013 Chair of TEX-FAB 5.0 and TxA Interactive.